RSS

Silver Box to Jewelry Display

20 Apr
Silver Box to Jewelry Display

At the beginning of March, we were home for about 10 days. We took an over night trip to Texas and then spent 3 days in Little Rock. Both of these trips are very directly related to that little bit of I can’t tell you yet from the last post. I am waiting to complete a really big personal step before I tell some very important people what I have been up to, and then I will tell the rest of the world. It is nothing earth shattering and most people won’t give a flip but it is important to me to finish this before I make a big deal out of it. So If you know what we were up to… Shhhhhh! LOL

On our way home from Little Rock, I convinced Ed to stop and the Habitat for Humanity Restore! Now, I am not lucky enough to have come across this store on a day when a contractor went out of business or a big old house was being renovated, or anything cool like that, but I did come across a couple of things that I thought had potential. The best of those items was this old sliver box. It was in rough shape, but hey, for $3 I could fix that!

I started out by ripping out the red lining. Someone had already started this for me.

As far as cleaning this puppy, I used vinegar to start out with. Then I saw what I thought was mold and just to be on the safe side I wiped it down with some bleach water. Wellllll… I’m not completely chem free… yet…

Of course as I was working and turning the box this way and that and scrubbing and scouring…the bottom fell out. Well crap…. sigh… oh well… I can fix that!

As it was sitting there drying and I am thinking about how to replace the bottom, a pin from Pinterest came to mind, and I thought “What if I…” I love those moments don’t you?

So I spray painted the poor old box.  I don’t know why I didn’t take pictures of that part of this whole thing. It may have something to do with my really truly amazingly poor spray painting ability. I really am lousy at it, but I think it turned out OK.  There are runs and bits where I didn”t exactly sand enough, and the paint beaded up on me, but I was going to distress it anyway. Come to find out if you suck at spray painting you don’t have much work to do when it comes to distressing! Who knew?

But anyway!

Off to the Big Blue hardware store I went, found what I was looking for right off the bat (it tunes out if you ask one of those people in the blue vests for what you are looking for, they usually take you right to it!! Who knew?) and home I came with my “radiator” cover sheet.

Lay the sheet down, place the box on top to measure, mark, cut, (Ed found me some old garden sheers) staple and there ya go.

OK. Here I must apologize. The floor in my craft room is hideous. Absolutely the most disgusting Indoor/outdoor “carpet” you could ever imagine. There is a long story as to why it is still here and maybe someday I will tell you but lets just say that soon this carpet is going to be gone and I am just going to have the bare concrete slab that is underneath. Why you might ask? Because soon we are going to start on the great Studio Re-Do Project. And when I say soon that means some time in the next 2 years or so. I still have a lot of thinking and designing to do, but I just don’t know how much longer I can stand this grossness in my space!

But back to the Box…

I picked up some material and picked out my combination and using some spray adhesive (Have you heard of this stuff? Its glue in a hair spray can!! Its amazing! Who knew? 😀 ) I attached the material to some foam board and inserted it into the top of the silver box.

Hummm now comes the part that had me scratching my head. Then my Mum comes along to check on my progress and sees me sitting there with a dumb look on my face. I told her I was trying to figure out how to make hooks to hang my necklaces from.  She just looked at me and said…

Pins.

Pins?

Gawd my Mum is so smart!! I pulled out some of the “T” pins I had and voila!

In this Photo you can really see how bad I am at spray painting! but like I said… it gives it that aged look… LOL

And here you have it! My reclaimed, Up-cycled, New Old Jewelry Display Case!

Cost:

$4.83 for Material

$1.97 for foam board

$26.98 for sheet metal

Total $8.45 for About 1/4 of all materials used for this project

$3.00 for box

$4.89 for spray paint

Grand Total:

$16.34 and 1 afternoon!!

I kinda like it!  It isn’t big enough for all of my jewelry, but that just gives me more chances to try new things! Also, the foam board isn’t attached so I can pull it out and change out the colors any time! So what do you think?  Do you have any spray painting tips for me? How about the post it self? It is my first “Look what I did” post. How did I do? To many photos? Not enough?  (is my insecurity showing again?) Drop me a comment and let me know what you think!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2012 in My Old Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Silver Box to Jewelry Display

  1. Suzy

    April 27, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    You are so funny! I loved your post, you did a terrific job! BTW, I just liked up at FaFF on Sew Many Ways and found your blog. LOVE the hubby comments too! Have a wonderful weekend.

     
    • Amy Underwood

      April 27, 2012 at 5:47 pm

      Hi Suzy!! Thanks so much for dropping by and letting me know you were here!!! I know this is silly but you made my freakin week by doing so!!!! Thanks for the kind words too! When I go back to Sew Many Ways, which blog is yours? I would love to check it out!! Go ahead and post a link here for all 2 of my other readers also! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
