RSS

More Testing, Blogs I Read & Such

30 Mar

Hi!

I haven’t posted in a few days because we are back on the road and I am still trying to figure this blogging thing out.

What I am learning about now:

The best way for me to write a post when we are away from the corners.

When I found the app Blog Maersto, by the folks at http://www.tinydesk.com, I thought I found the perfect app but as I was using the app I found a couple If things that I wasn’t impressed with.

1. My auto correct didn’t work. I care about my readers too much to write without any sort of spell check!

2. One feature I did really like was the ability to add photos and headings as well as paragraphs of text. The problem? There was no way to move things around. If you forgot that heading or decided that this photo belongs up one paragraph… You are were of luck.

I went to the website, asked questions regarding move things around and turning on the auto correct, and promptly put it all out of my mind. Guess I am going to have to look and see if I got a response.

I am working on finding a work around now. To do this I am going to write half of this post in Word using my Docs To Go app and the other half in Pages. Just to see which I like working with better or if I am going to go hunting for a new word procsesing app. (oh dang… wouldn’t that just be horrible!)

Word, Pages, and Maestro

Word, Pages, and Maestro

What I am reading now:

Blogs blogs and more blogs. OK listening may be a better word than reading. Did you know that the iPhone has the ability to read to you? I love my iPhone. It takes a bit of setup on my part but I can get my phone to read to me all night long while I am driving! That means I can keep up with my favorite blogs! Here are just a few of my favorites:

Iheart organizing

One Good Thing

Crunchy Betty

Addicted 2 Decorating

7th House on the Left

Her New Leaf

But I have got to tell you about one blog that I have fallen head over heals with.

SEW MANY WAYS.

You see Karen isn’t a “one trick pony” as Grammy Nason used to say. She sews, she quilts, she crafts, she cooks, and she blogs. Best of all she tells us all how she does it! !! Karen is such a generouse person! She has link party’s on Fridays where other bloggers can come and share projects that they have written out for their blogs. That way we can all explore and find new inspiration and ideas. She is also starting a “Find a Friend Friday” where you can link to your blog and others can come and see what you are all about. I can’t wait to explore more blogs!! I also put a link to this blog there so if you are coming over from Sew Many Ways, HI!!!! Leave me a comment and let me know you were here and I’ll come visit your blog if ya have one and we will see if we can make this work the way Karen thought it would!

I finally got caught up with my “reading” last night and ended up adding a couple of new boards to Pinterest. One was My Favorite Blogs and another was…. Crud… Let me go look… This could take a while… Pheww.. In and out of Pinterest in under 30 seconds! Ok. So I just added the one board but I did add 22 new pins! Now all I have to do is go thru all of the posts I have “stared” and add them to my boards! Now that’s going to be a project!

Pinterest, blogs and apricot lips

Pinterest, blogs and apricot lips

While away from the corner:

Well, as I said, we have been on the road for a bout a week or so now. It gets really hard to keep track of time out here. It becomes hours to get to the delivery instead of Monday or Tuesday and as for the days of the month that becomes days till we go home.

We left the house and stopped in Colby Kansas to do some grocery shopping, (big box stores drive me nuts but at least some W-marts have truck parking!) made it to our delivery in Tooele UT (right out side of Salt Lake City) then went down to Cedar City UT and got a room for the night.

Next afternoon we picked up Easter flowers on Newcastle UT and delivered them to Riverside CA the next morning. Then we ha to get the air shute fixed in our trailer then go get it washed out AND make 2 citrus pickups. The last pick up put us “over gross” which means we weighed more than the 80,000 lbs. aloe we’d by law so we had to go back and have them take a pallet off the trailer.

Then it was my turn to drive! After being up all say and doing all of that it was no wonder I only made it 100 miles before I stopped in Tahatchapi CA and went to snuggle the hubbs. At some point I woke up in Essex CA. Ed drove to Kingman AZ. Where we got to do a bit more grocery shopping, I did my mile and a half walk in the truck and did come cleaning, then I had to go to work. Sounds like anyone else’s typical day huh? I drove to Moriarty NM (just east of Albuquerque ). Made it 500 miles! Yeepee! I woke up in Tucumcari NM where we are having a flat tire fixed! Ahhh the life of a truck driver!

Around in circles

Around in circles

Well it is just about nap time for me. Next time I will tell you about how I cook in the truck and maybe even about one of the projects I have finished. I have a camera full of photos of the projects I have done since I started thinking about doing this blog so I guess I should get to writing about them!

Oh!!!! I have a question for you other bloggers out there. Do you upload all of your photos to WordPress or Blogger or is there another way to do it? I keep getting photos that won’t load. Thanks for any advice!

Amy U.

(I really need to come up with a cool signature!)

P.S. it looks like I will be shopping for a new app. Even using my awesome Notebooks app is a bit of a pain. Any ideas??

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2012 in My Old Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “More Testing, Blogs I Read & Such

  1. MimiBaba

    March 30, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    How do I share my candy bar photo & how-to make one, with you & your followers?

     
    • Amy Underwood

      March 30, 2012 at 6:51 pm

      Send me an email and I will take care of it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
