RSS

Sterling Lace and 2 Dirt Roads

22 Mar

What are you going to do with all the stuff you are making? Asked the hubby of the craft crazed wife…

Wow! I had to do some quick thinking that day!

“Ummm… I’m going to sell it all in my Etsy Shop!”

Oh dang!! Do I still have an Etsy shop? I thought as I scrambled to my computer.

Phew!!! There it is! It was still there.

All of my listings were long expired. I couldn’t remember what I still had in stock, what I had out on consignment, what had sold and what I had decided to keep for me, but the bones of the shop were still there.

Sterling Lace Creations

20120322-021202.jpg

Between getting sick and taking about a year off, changes in PayPal and my website hosting company, and the way silver prices have skyrocketed, Sterling Lace Creations is in quite a mess and here I am wanting to start new projects… Sigh. Ok so one thing at a time.

I am not going to stop making my jewelry! I just need to get over my material “snobbyness” and find a different way to make it. I may go with a different medium all together! I have always wanted to play with glass.

I am going to go through my inventory and move all of it to my Sterling Lace Etsy Shop. I will keep the SterlingLace.com domain name and just forward it to the Etsy shop, that way I don’t have to scrap all of my business cards! But the Sterling Lace site will go away.

That site took me a year to build and almost burnt me out. I hated every minute of it. Mostly because I put to much pressure on myself to make it perfect. I ended up spending more time tweaking, tweeting, and FaceBook updating than I did making jewelry! Then I got sick and it all when to…

From The Corner Of 2 Dirt Roads

20120322-021218.jpg

Ok, so, Sterling Lace Creations is moving to Etsy, but what about the original question? What to do with all the new stuff I make from all of the great ideas on Pinterest?

Some of the things I make will become Christmas presents and some will become decorations for my home but the rest WILL end up in an Etsy Shop!

One of the biggest problems I had with running Sterling Lace as a business, aside from the website, was the bookkeeping. I hate paper work. I tend to over analyze everything. It drives me nuts!! So to save myself the aggravation, I am just going to pick a price and run with it. I told hubby I was going to sell everything for $5, but I will have to see how that goes. I can’t sell something that cost me $.02 to make for $5 just like I can’t sell something that cost me $100 to make for $5. I will come up with something! This time it’s not about making a profit though. This time it’s about Learning, Laughing, Loving & Creating!

Some of the things I need to think about and would love to hear some feedback on are:

Should I start another shop just for From The Corner Of 2 Dirt Roads and keep the Sterling Lace shop just for jewelry?

Is there even a way to set up catigories on Etsy so that I could have 2 different product lines in the same shop?

Do you have an Etsy shop? How do you have your products set up?

Is there a better place to set up a shop? I do not want to spend a lot of time on the shop. I just want to slap some pictures up, add a link to the blog post and a price and be done with it… If it sells it sells if it doesn’t oh well!

I hope you are having a great day and I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Amy U.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2012 in My Old Life

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Sterling Lace and 2 Dirt Roads

  1. KateMiller

    May 23, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    Congrats on opening your shop back up! I hope it’s been going well. I definitely can commiserate with your bookkeeping pains. You should check out Outright.com (http://outright.com) It really helped when the whole bookkeeping and organization process became too overwhelming for me.

     
    • Amy Underwood

      May 23, 2012 at 7:25 pm

      Hi Kate!

      I did check it out and will keep it in mind if I get going again. Things have gotten a bit crazy here and just about everything is on hold for the next little bit. I hope you enjoy my blog… I will be posting again soon I hope!

       

Leave a Reply

 
