RSS

Allow me to introduce myself

21 Mar

3/21/12

Have you ever thought about doing something new? Have you ever thought “That could be fun, seems easy enough, I could do that!” Have you ever had that thought lodge in your brain and the only thing you can do is move forward with the idea. Then the problem becomes, once you start looking into what it take to make this new idea a reality, you start thinking that you have bitten off more than you can chew?

Yeah me too. It’s a good thing I have a big mouth because, I have one big mouthful with this blog idea! But they say that you can eat anything if you take it one bite at a time!

So, here I sit, re-writing my first blog post. Yep, this is my 3rd attempt. I had a great post that took me 3 days to write. Pictures, formatting, re-writing, editing, and agonizing over how silly it all sounded but it was done. I saved it almost every minute. Then I tried to post it as a draft to WordPress and only the 140 charaters transferred from the app on my iPhone. Yep, 3 days of working on my phone, gone. To say I was upset would be a great understatement. That was 3 weeks ago. It has taken me that long to get over my loss, find a new way to post and work up the guts to try again.

So here we go!!

20120229-040640.jpg

HI! My name is Amy!
I just want to say Hi and introduce myself and let you know what I hope to do with this blog and why I decided to start it. (and to get this first post written and posted because the first is always the hardest.)

A BIT ABOUT ME:
Well, first off you should know, I tend to type the way I think… I am hoping that that will get better and I go along. As for my spelling and grammer, well let’s just say “thank goodness for spell checker”!

20120321-143606.jpg

I am a Wife, Step Mum, Grammy, Daughter, Friend and a Truck Driver. Yep, I drive one of those loud, stinky, road hogging 18 Wheelers. Hubby and I drive across country as a team so I live in what I call an 8 foot square box for up to 5-6 weeks at a time. It is a bit bigger than that inside the cab of the truck but not by much.

WHAT I WANT TO WRITE ABOUT AND WHY:

I am a geek. I love my iPhone. I love apps. I truly belive “There IS an App for That” I wouldn’t be surprised if there are a few techie posts.

I thought this would be a great place journal about the “Cruisin and Campin” vacations that we have/will take. I love to take pictures of new places and I think it will be fun to share them.

“Memories of My Life for My Granddaughters” could be a category too. See I don’t live close to my granddaughters and I think that this would be a great way for me to write out my story so that someday they will be able get to know me. And every girl should have a diray right?

20120321-143539.jpg

A lot of my friends on Facebook are amazed that I drive the truck and think that “My Life on the Road” is pretty cool. There are a lot of stories here too. There is so much beauty in this country and I would love to share it with you. I also want to pass on some safety tips for driving around trucks. I don’t know about you but I wasn’t taught how to drive around a truck when I was going thru drivers ed!

I plan to just be me in this blog. “No Holding Back” here. If you were interested in really getting to know me this is where you would go. I plan to voice my opinion here without worrying about upsetting anyone. I have no intention of insulting, upsetting or hurting anyone. But I really think that if there is something online that you don’t like then you don’t have to read it. I do not like to talk about politics or religion. In these areas I have my opinions and you have yours. I am not going to change your mind and you are not going to change mine, but, sometimes I need a place to vent, so every once in a while there may be a post where I am not exactly all sunshine and light. I will do my best to keep these posts few and far between.

20120229-040712.jpg

Our house really is on the corner of two dirt roads. Like most homes it is a “Work in Progress”. Hubby and I do the work ourselves and have a blast doing it. Some of the projects that we have going are our pantry, entryway, our bedroom, front porch and the screened in porch we want to add to the back of the house, and someday the bathroom. The biggest project in my mind is my craft studio. I can’t wait to tell you all about that one!

20120229-040702.jpg

But 99% of my posts will be about my crafting. You see, I LOVE to create things. It doesn’t matter what I am making as long as I am making something new. I love learning almost as much as I love to create. Isn’t that just a perfect combination? I have soooooo much fun learning to make new things and that is what I am going to post about. Hubby is always saying “You Did What?” and that I have a toy tool collecting hobby, not a crafting addiction, because I have Crafting A.A.D.D. (I had A.D.D as a kid and it carried into adulthood) He may be right, but then again, I know that it is just that I love to learn and get bored very quickly.

20120229-040726.jpg

This all started with Pintrest. I can find so many new things to make and how to make them. I want to try this and that and a bit of the other too and thought, Oh I need to take a picture of this and post it on Facebook and that’s when that niggleing little thought entered my mind. What If I start a blog? And we all know what happens when one of those niggeling little thoughts gets into our minds don’t we?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2012 in My Old Life

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Allow me to introduce myself

  1. Cheryl

    April 14, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    Ha, I love those niggeling little thoughts! I’m glad you obeyed yours. Great job, it’s lookin’ good!!

     
    • Amy Underwood

      April 14, 2012 at 9:00 pm

      Thanks!!! You aint seen nothin yet!!! LOL

       

Leave a Reply

 
